DSA’s Down Syndrome Education Series

Author: Arli Boustead

Have you been to any of the Down Syndrome Education Series (DSES) yet? If not, get the next one on your calendar. (Tuesday, March 15)

We are one of the few places in the country (if not the only) where our alliance (DSA) has been awarded a large sum of money to fly in experts on all topics related to Down syndrome to share their knowledge and experience so our Buddies may benefit from it. The series is free to us all and I’m telling you that even though there is a BIG cost associated with making this available, I can’t possibly put a price on what I get from it. It’s invaluable.

Do you know what’s even better… These speakers aren’t just coming to talk to us, (parents & family members) and leaving; they are also presenting to medical professionals and educators locally in separate presentations. How great is it to know that while I’m getting valuable resources to use at home, the people I count on to support Max’s growth and development are also being given valuable tools to support me.

Invaluable.

Yeah, I know it can be hard to get out on a Tuesday night, but I know that you won’t regret it. Every time I go, I feel more informed, empowered and relieved that there are educated and experienced people coming to my doorstep to help me navigate so many unique challenges our kids may face. Not to mention, I get to network a little with the other families. BONUS!

Here’s a look at the numbers:
$10,000 Original grant from Global Down Syndrome Foundation
$11,000 Raised from local supporters to match – specifically for DSES.
$5,000 from a private donor
$2,500 from the eBay Foundation
$1,000 from Blue Cross Blue Shield Nebraska
$1,000 from an employee fundraiser at Kiewitt
$1,500 from a Christmas charitable drive at Tenaska Fuels

11 speakers
16 presentations
32 hours of class time
475 Seats were filled through those presentations

57 Family members – largest attended presentation
50 Medical professionals attended a presentation at UNMC Grand Rounds
25 Educators in attendance at just ONE of the many education presentations
We’ve also had university students at a few of the professional presentations.

As a relatively new member to this lovely Down syndrome community, I find this new series to be such a welcome monthly event and will soak as many up as I can, and continue to tell whomever will listen. JUST GO – It’s time well spent!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment